2018 Tax Sale
Scheduled date for the 2018 Tax Sale: July 17, 2018
Location: Lincoln County Courthouse, 925 Sage Avenue in Kemmerer
LINCOLN COUNTY DOES NOT WARRANT THE PROPERTY WHEN SELLING THE TAX LIEN. IT IS A “BUYER BEWARE” MARKET! Please be prepared to file for a tax deed if the property is not redeemed. We do not research for any other liens.
PLEASE NOTE: THE LINCOLN COUNTY TREASURER'S OFFICE CANNOT GIVE ANY ADVICE OR GUIDANCE TO INDIVIDUALS CONCERNING POTENTIAL TAX DEED FILING. PLEASE CONSULT LEGAL COUNSEL.
Because of capacity constraints, the Lincoln County Treasurer's Tax Sale is limited to 100 people. No reserved seating.
Newspaper advertising of properties are located in the following:
- Star Valley Independent, Afton, Wyoming: June 13, 20, 27
Tax Sale Process
Sign in is from 7:30 – 9:00 AM unless otherwise advertised. No admittance allowed after sale has begun.
Tax buyers must attend the sale. Relatives & friends cannot purchase property for another individual not in attendance. Each individual must have a tax ID number. Reassignments cannot be made for a minimum of 24 hours after the sale. (There is a $25.00 fee per reassignment.)
Tax buyer must be 18 years of age.
Each tax buyer is assigned only one number.
A number is drawn; the tax buyer can accept or decline to purchase the certificate. If the buyer declines, that number will be held out until all the remaining numbers have been drawn.
Once all numbers have been drawn; the process is repeated until all eligible taxes are sold.
Once you have accepted to purchase, no trading of parcels will be allowed between buyers.
Reassignments will not be accepted for a minimum of 24 hours following the tax sale.
When the tax sale is completed, payment will be taken in the Treasurer’s office.
Payments must be made in the form of check or cash. We do not accept credit/debit cards.
Certificate of Purchase
Certificate of Purchase is $20.00. The tax deed will be issued in the Certificate of Purchase owner's name. The Treasurer’s office will retain the original Certificate of Purchase, and copies will be sent to the buyers. Bankruptcy may stop the collection of interest.
3% interest is applied to original purchase amount for the first year, with additional 15% per annum applied to days held since tax sale date until redemption. After the first year, interest shall remain at 15% per annum thru subsequent years.
If the original property owner fails to redeem or pay current year taxes by December 31, the Treasurer will then send you a bill for those taxes to be paid in full. You can expect this bill in January. Owner redemption and other specific statutory provisions relating to the overall tax sale can be found under Wyoming Statutes 39-13-108. PLEASE NOTE: Office personnel are not authorized to provide legal advice, nor answer legal questions.
We ask that only sincere tax buyers participate in this tax sale, with full intentions of fulfilling their obligation of 4-6 years, or until the property is redeemed.
Please understand, if you cannot meet your obligation, the Treasurer is not responsible, nor obligated, to transfer or reassign your Certificate of Purchase. The tax buyer is responsible to find someone to buy or reassign their certificates.
The Lincoln County Treasurer will be glad to help with the necessary paperwork, if and when you find another buyer.
A fee of $25.00 will be charged for this service.
If the legal owners or mortgagees of property do not redeem the property within four years from the date of sale, holders of Certificates of Purchase can apply for a tax deed by submitting an application showing that they have complied with strict notice requirements. If all requirements have been met, the Certificate of Purchase holder will be given a tax deed to the property. We strongly suggest that you retain an attorney to help you with the tax deed application process. Office personnel are not authorized to provide legal advice, nor answer questions pertaining to legal issues.